Nadasurabhi Cultural Association located in Koramangala, Bangalore is in the forefront of promoting Classical Carnatic Music. Nadasurabhi conducts the highest quality music concerts every month and a week-long Annual Festival in November, free of charge to all rasikas. Our other events include a youth festival, Thyagaraja and Purandaradasa Aradhana, and music competitions for children.

Nadasurabhi, in the year 2007 decided to institute an Award- Sangeetha Surabhi. The award is given to leading musicians for their immense lifetime contribution to the field of Carnatic Music. The award is given away during a special function held in conjunction with the Annual Music Festival held every November. With great respect the awardee is honoured with a Shawl, a Citation and a Purse. Following are the details of the awardees.

Sangeetha Surabhi- 2011 awarded to Violin Maestro Sri.M.S.Gopalakrishnan

The 2011 Sangeetha Surabhi award was presented to Violin Maestro Sri. M.S.Gopalakrishnan 0n the 13th of November 2011 at a colourful cermony held at the Main Auditorium of St.John's Medical College, Koramangala, Bangalore. President Brig. N.H.Narayan presented the award. The felicitation address was presented by senior artist Sangita Kalacharya Smt. Neela Ramgopal. Interspersed with personal anecdotes, she recalled the great contribution of Sri.Gopalakrishnan to the field of Classical Music both as an accompanying artist and solo artist both in Carnatic and Hindustani Music styles. Sri. Gopalakrishnan extended his heartist greetings and blessings to Nadasurabhi.


Sangeetha Surabhi- 2010 awarded to Mrudangam legend Umayalpuram K.Sivaraman

The annual award of Sangeetha Surabhi from Nadasurabhi was awarded to Mrudangam legend Padmavibhushan Sangita Kalanidhi Dr.Umayalpuram K.Sivaraman on 26th November 2010. After a brief welcome address by Sri.KSS Raghavan, the general secretary Smt.Harini Raghavan read the citation outlining the major achievements by the mrudangam maestro. The president Brig.NH Narayan presented Dr.Sivaraman a shawl and the citation of the award. The chief guest for the occasion, the nanogerian pithamaha of carnatic music, Dr. RK Srikantan recalled the contribution of Dr.Sivaraman in the service of the great Indian art form. Dr.Sivaraman, in his acceptance speech, said that he was honoured by being felicitated by a leading seniormost artist , Dr.RK Srikantan. He also thanked the organisers and the audience for their support.


Personal visit of Nadasurabhi VP to honour violin maestro Lalgudi Jayaraman

Nadasurabhi, a leading organisation in promoting Indian Classical music in Bangalore, during their seven day annual music festival in November 2009, honoured vioin maestro Padmabhushan Lalgudi G Jayaraman with the title of "Sangeetha Surabhi". Due to indifferent health Sri. Jayaraman could not participate in the function held in Bangalore. The award was received on his behalf by his son and disciple Lalgudi GJR Krishnan.

Nadasurabhi however felt that it was also appropriate for a senior executive of the organisation to personally meet Sri. Lalgudi Jayaraman to pay their respects and seek the blessings of this legend of a musician.

Brig.(Retd) N.H.Narayan, Vice President, Nadasurabhi visited the artist at his residence in Chennai on 13th December 2009. After garlanding and presenting him with a shawl, Brig. Narayan also presented the citation of the award of "Sangeetha Surabhi" to Sri. Jayaraman.

Sri. Lalgudi Jayaraman was so overwhelmed and touched by the affection and respect shown by Nadasurabhi, that he gave his heartiest good wishes to the organisation. Also, learning that a youth festival is coming up in February 2010 to encourage young talent, Sri. Jayaraman immediately offered to sponsor the entire programme from his Lalgudi Trust. The executive committee of Nadasurabhi expresses its most sincere thanks to Lalgudi Jayaraman for this most generous gesture, befitting an artist of the highest eminence and stature.


Page 4 of 5

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next > End >>

Events Calendar

<<  June 2023  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  5  6  7  8  91011

Entry is free for all Nadasurabhi Programmes.

Donations to Nadasurabhi are entitled for exemption under Section 80G of I.T.Act.