Nadasurabhi Cultural Association located in Koramangala, Bangalore is in the forefront of promoting Classical Carnatic Music. Nadasurabhi conducts the highest quality music concerts every month and a week-long Annual Festival in November, free of charge to all rasikas. Our other events include a youth festival, Thyagaraja and Purandaradasa Aradhana, and music competitions for children.

Nadasurabhi, in the year 2007 decided to institute an Award- Sangeetha Surabhi. The award is given to leading musicians for their immense lifetime contribution to the field of Carnatic Music. The award is given away during a special function held in conjuction with the weeklong Music Festival held every November. With great respect the awardee is honoured with a Shawl, a Citation and a Purse. Following are the details of the awardees.

Sangeetha Surabhi award to Madurai Sri.T.N.Seshagopalan for the year 2013

The seventh Sangeetha Surabhi award was presented to Carnatic Music maestro Madurai Sri.T.N.Seshagopalan on 17th November 2013. Here is a brief write up about the grand event.

In the continued effort of Nadasurabhi in honouring senior musicians who have contributed immensely towards the growth of Carnatic Music, Madurai Sri.T.N.Seshagopalan, an unparallelled genius in his field was felicitated on the morning of 17th November 2013. In front of an august audience, Smt.Harini Raghavan, General Secretary read out the citation briefly going through the various achievements of the maestro. The award was received by Vidwan T.N.S.Krishna, son and disciple of Sri. Seshagopalan, on behalf of his father. The chief guest Prof. Mysore V Subramanya, in his felicitation address recalled the 25 years of his personal association with Sri.TNS. Mentioning the uniqueness of the great musician, he described the way swarakalpana would come bubbling through in Sri.TNS's concerts like a "pravaaha" , his guru bhakthi, total concentration in music during concerts without distractions and several personal anecdotes. Sri. TNS Krishna, in his acceptance speech brought out the special relationship that his father holds with Karnataka and also specifically Nadasurabhi. He also mentioned about the multifaceted genius of his father, whom he is privileged to represent on this day (due to ill health of Sri.TNS). 


Sangeetha Surabhi award to Dr.N. Ramani for the year 2012

The sixth Sangeetha Surabhi award was presented to flute maestro Dr.N.Ramani on 25th November 2012 . Here is a brief write up about the grand event.

The morning of 25th November 2012 saw an assemby of some of the foremost musicians and rasikas of Bangalore in the august new auditorium of St.John's Nurses College. The event was the felicitation of Sangeetha Kalanidhi Padmasri Dr.N.Ramani, the unparalleled genius in the field of Carnatic flute. The president of Nadasurabhi Brig.N.H.Narayan honoured the artist with a shawl and citation of the award of "Sangeetha Surabhi". Vidushi Neela Ramgopal presented the felicitation speech. In his acceptance speech Dr.Ramani thanked the organisers and gave his best wishes to the organisation. He also mentioned that the Sangeetha Surabhi award was the 103rd award that he is receiving in his illustrious career!




Sangeetha Surabhi- 2011 awarded to Violin Maestro Sri.M.S.Gopalakrishnan

The 2011 Sangeetha Surabhi award was presented to Violin Maestro Sri. M.S.Gopalakrishnan 0n the 13th of November 2011 at a colourful cermony held at the Main Auditorium of St.John's Medical College, Koramangala, Bangalore. President Brig. N.H.Narayan presented the award. The felicitation address was presented by senior artist Sangita Kalacharya Smt. Neela Ramgopal. Interspersed with personal anecdotes, she recalled the great contribution of Sri.Gopalakrishnan to the field of Classical Music both as an accompanying artist and solo artist both in Carnatic and Hindustani Music styles. Sri. Gopalakrishnan extended his heartist greetings and blessings to Nadasurabhi.


Page 2 of 4

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 Next > End >>

Events Calendar

<<  April 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Entry is free for all Nadasurabhi Programmes.

Donations to Nadasurabhi are entitled for exemption under Section 80G of I.T.Act.